Unfortunately, alcohol-related accidents in the US are increasing every year, and for this reason, the government has made drunk driving laws stricter than ever before. The government of the US hopes that alcohol-related car accidents will be significantly reduced in the future by implementing programs such as ignition interlock devices. Today, more than forty states in the US have ignition interlock device programs, and some states like Arizona and Maryland have changed their laws and launched the ignition interlock program forcing first-time offenders to install this device in their vehicle. Ignition interlock devices are modeled after New Mexico’s interlock program. After implementation of this program, DWI related accidents have decreased by 12%. If you or someone you know is worried that they may receive this please contact our New Jersey driving while intoxicated lawyers.
Ignition Interlock, also known as IID, is an alcohol breath screening device that is installed in a vehicle’s dashboard. If an IID is installed in your vehicle, you can’t start your car without doing a breathalyzer test. Every time you want to start your car, you will be required to provide your breath sample by breathing steadily into the device. If your blood alcohol level (BAC level) is above the preset level, for example, 0.2 to 0.4, you won’t be able to start your vehicle. Take note, these devices are extremely sensitive and can also pick up alcohol contained in mouthwash and even some cold medicines. It is also important to note that these could be one of the penalties given out for getting a DWI with a CDL.
While you are driving, at random times, the interlock device will ask for your breath sample. This way, an intoxicated driver can’t use a friend to breathe into the device and then drive away. Whenever you refuse to provide your breath sample or whenever your breath sample exceeds the preset blood alcohol level of your ignition interlock device, the data will be logged automatically. In certain cases, it can even start an alarm until the ignition is switched off.
If you are a person with prior convictions, you might be required to have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle. Also, if you are a first-time offender with a very high blood alcohol content, you may be subject to installing an IID in your car. Persons who have declined to take a chemical test or caused auto accidents can be obliged to install the device in their vehicle, depending on the state in which you were convicted. Usually, the ignition interlock device is installed in your car after your driving license has been reinstated. The installation fees depend on the type of vehicle and can range from $100 to $300. Monthly rentals fees are often offered for an IID. The monthly cost depends on the length of time you are required to have the system installed. It may cost anywhere from $75 to $150 per month.
Every 30 to 60 days you must schedule an appointment to get your device calibrated. Your overall fees consist of installation, rental and maintenance costs. If you don’t comply with the ignition interlock program, you could receive additional financial penalties. But more importantly, you will not be permitted to have your license reinstated. If you remove the device on your own or drive the vehicle without the device, not only will you be fined, but you could face jail time for a short term.
If you have been convicted of a DWI, an ignition interlock device is just one of many penalties you may face. A conviction may affect your life in multiple aspects and leave a permanent mark on your name. Don’t allow one drunk error in judgment to ruin your life. Contact a drunk driving attorney today.